Eligible programs under the extended post-study work visa in Australia

Eligible programs under the extended post-study work visa in Australia

Following the Australian government’s recent announcement on the extension of post-study work visas, a list of eligible programs has been released. The selected fields of study are in areas where verified skill shortages exist which include Medicine, Psychology, Optometry, Pharmacy, Teaching, Engineering, Information and Communication Technology, Agriculture, and Food Technology.


 The increased post-study work rights for select degrees are as follows: 

  • Bachelor degrees: from two years to four years for select programs 
  • Masters degrees: from three years to five years for select programs 
  • PhD: from four years to six years for all programs


To support this initiative and assist students in identifying eligible programs, we have compiled a list of our top-rated institution partners, along with a rundown of the programs they offer.

  1. Australian National University

The Australian National University (ANU) is a world-renowned public research university located mainly in the inner-city suburb of Acton, Canberra with campuses in New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory, and New Territory housing extraordinary research facilities such as the Kioloa Coastal Campus, Mount Stromlo Observatory, North Australian Research Unit campus, Siding Spring Observatory. 


  • Master of Nursing Practice (Pre-Registration) – CDU Sydney Campus
  • Master of Science (Advanced) in Agricultural Innovation
  • Master of Pharmacy
  • Bachelor of Psychological Science
  • Bachelor of Paramedicine


  1. University of Tasmania

Utilising Tasmania’s unique natural environment and geographical location, the University of Tasmania (UTAS) is proudly centred in sustainability as an opportunity across the island. The public research university has three distinct regions of Tasmania: Hobart in the South, Launceston in the North and Burnie in the North West. UTAS also has a campus in Sydney offering nursing, paramedic and health management education. 

  • Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Engineering (Specialisation) with Honours in Engineering
  • Bachelor of Pharmacy with Applied Honours
  • Bachelor of Education (Primary)
  • Bachelor of Information and Communication Technology
  • Master of Professional Engineering (Specialisation) 


  1. Flinders University

Flinders University is a pioneer in a cross-discipline approach to education. It is settled upon 156 acres of greenery in Bedford Park, south of Adelaide, with campuses in Tonsley, Adelaide Central Business District, Renmark, Alice Springs, and Darwin. Institutes and centres in the university are focused in nano-scale science and technology, medical devices, mental health and wellbeing, disaster preparedness and resilience, and defence engineering. 

  • Master of Teaching (Primary)
  • Bachelor of Computer Science (Honours)
  • Doctor of Medicine
  • Bachelor of Computer Science
  • Bachelor of Engineering (Biomedical) (Honours)


  1. University of Western Australia

The University of Western Australia (UWA) is a top-rated public research university located in Perth. Other campuses include an Albany campus at the heart of the South West and the UWA Health Campus at the Queen Elizabeth II Medical Centre, along with additional facilities in Claremont and Nedlands.

  • Master of Teaching (Secondary)
  • Master of Agricultural Science
  • Master of Biotechnology
  • Bachelor of Agricultural Science and Bachelor of Science
  • Bachelor of Psychology and Bachelor of Commerce


  1. University of Canberra

The University of Canberra (UC) is a public university located in Bruce, Canberra with campuses in Sydney and Queensland, and internationally in China, Vietnam, India and Bhutan. UC has four research facilities, namely, Institute for Applied Ecology, Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis, Research Institute for Sport and Exercise (UCRISE), and Research Centres across faculties. 

  • Bachelor of Secondary Education/Bachelor of Science
  • Master of Pharmacy
  • Bachelor of Primary Education
  • Bachelor of Software Engineering/Bachelor of Business Informatics
  • Bachelor of Nursing


  1. Deakin University

Deakin University a public university with four campuses across Melbourne, Geelong and Warrnambool, and an innovative online learning environment offering courses from four faculties: Arts and Education, Business and Law, Health, and Science, Engineering and Built Environment. 

  • Doctor of Medicine
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Engineering) – IFM
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Nursing)
  • Bachelor of Nursing (Honours)
  • Master of Psychology (Clinical)


  1. University of Technology Sydney (UTS)

Located in Sydney, New South Wales, the University of Technology Sydney (UTS) is a public research university focused on the fields of health, future industries, sustainability, infrastructure, communities, and transdisciplinary research. 

  • Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) / Bachelor of Medical Science
  • Bachelor of Technology / Master of Teaching in Secondary Education
  • Bachelor of Business/Bachelor of Science in Information Technology
  • Graduate Certificate in Engineering Management
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Clinical Psychology)


  1. Charles Darwin University

Charles Darwin University (CDU) is an Australian public university with a main campus in Darwin and eight satellite campuses. The research-intensive university is well-renowned in indigenous and tropical health, environmental science, and public policy.

  • Master of Nursing Practice (Pre-Registration) – CDU Sydney Campus
  • Master of Pharmacy
  • Bachelor of Education Primary
  • Bachelor of Psychological Science
  • Master of Teaching Primary


  1. Griffith University Queensland

Griffith University is a public research university in South East Queensland on the east coast of Australia. The university research centres develop new knowledge in a range of specialist areas including medicine and healthcare, emerging technologies, social innovations, culture, learning and the arts, the environment, and governance and policy development.

  • Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)/Bachelor of Aviation
  • Bachelor of Psychological Science (Honours)
  • Master of Clinical Psychology
  • Bachelor of Nursing
  • Master of Environmental Engineering


  1. Swinburne University of Technology

Swinburne University, a public research university, has three campuses located in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne — at Hawthorn, Croydon and Wantirna — and a fourth campus in Sarawak, Malaysia. University research is centred on data science, health innovation, manufacturing future, smart cities, social innovation, and space technology. 

  • Doctor of Philosophy – Engineering
  • Doctor of Philosophy – Information Systems
  • Doctor of Philosophy – Technology Innovation – Science, Engineering and Technology
  • Master of Professional Engineering
  • Master of Information and Communication Technologies (Research)

For more partner universities offering eligible programs with opportunities to apply for the extended post-study work visas, visit the  GSP Platform or contact our team today to learn more.

More Posts

To get the latest updates,
subscribe to our mailing list

Subscribe to newsletter

Request a demo

An upgrad GSP expert will reach out to discuss your needs.

Book a demo